Email Email   


In 1791, the Tsarist government of Russia designated certain districts in which Jews were allowed to reside. The pretext for this restriction was the need to “protect” the Russian people from Jewish influence. Until 1910, this policy of restricting Jewish rights of residence continued. Sometimes the Pale was enlarged; other times a given city or village was withdrawn from the Pale. Restrictions, changing from time to time, were placed on Jews living inside the Pale as well. They were forbidden to lease land or keep taverns in villages. They had to pay double taxes, and they were barred from higher education. Only after the overthrow of the Tsarist government in 1917 was the Pale of Settlement finally abolished.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email